Ashta Prakari Puja

Meaning Of Ashta Prakari Puja


Generally Jains use the following eight items to perform puja of a

Tirthankara in the temple. Symbolically each item represents a

specific religious virtue and one should reflect on it while

performing puja.

1. Jala Puja: Water

2. Chandan Puja: Sandal-wood

3. Pushpa Puja: Flower

4. Dhup Puja: Incense

5. Dipak Puja: Candle

6. Akshat Puja: Rice

7. Naivedya Puja: Sweet food

8. Fal Puja: Fruit

1. Jala Puja: (Water)


Water symbolizes the ocean. Every living being continuously

travels through life's ocean of birth, death, and misery. This

puja reminds that one should live his life with honesty,

truthfulness, love, and compassion towards all living beings. This

way one will be able to cross life's ocean and attain liberation

(Moksha). This is known as samyak-darshana, samyak-jnana, and

samyak-charitrya in the Jain religion.

2. Chandan Puja: (Sandal-wood)


Chandan symbolizes knowledge (jnana). By doing this puja, one

should thrive for right knowledge. Jainism believes that the path

of knowledge is the main path to attain Moksha or liberation.

Bhakti or devotion helps in the early stages of one's effort for


3. Pushpa Puja: (Flower)


The flower symbolizes conduct. Our conduct should be like a

flower, which provides fragrance and beauty to all living beings

without discrimination. We should live our life like flowers full

of love and compassion towards all living beings.

4. Dhup Puja: (Incense)


Dhup symbolizes monkhood life. While burning itself, incense

provides fragrance to others. Similarly, true monks and nuns spend

their entire life selflessly for the benefit of all living beings.

This puja reminds that one should thrive for a ascetic life.

5. Dipak Puja: (Candle)


The flame of dipak represents a pure consciousness, i.e. a soul

without any bondage of a karma or a liberated soul. In Jainism,

such a soul is called a Siddha or God. The ultimate goal of every

living being is to become liberated. By doing this puja one should

thrive to follow five great vows; non-violence, truthfulness,

non-stealing, chastity, and non-possession. Ultimately these vows

will lead to liberation.

6. Akshat Puja: (Rice)


Rice is a kind of grain which is nonfertile. One cannot grow rice

plants by seeding rice. Symbolically, it means that rice is the

last birth. By doing this puja one should thrive to put all the

efforts in life in such a way that this life becomes one's last

life, and after the end of this life one will not be reborn again.

7. Naivedya Puja: (Sweet food)


Naivedya symbolizes tasty food. By doing this puja, one should

thrive to reduce or eliminate attachment to tasty food. Healthy

food is essential for survival, however one should not live for

tasty food. Ultimate aim in one's life is to attain a life where

no food is essential for survival. That is the life of a liberated

soul who lives in Moksha for ever in ultimate blissful state.

8. Fal Puja: (Fruit)


Fruit is a symbol of Moksha or liberation. If we live our life

without any attachment to worldly affairs, continue to perform our

duty without any expectation and reward, be a witness to all the

incidents that occur surrounding us, truly follow monkhood life,

and have a love and compassion to all living beings, we will attain

the fruit of liberation. This is the last puja symbolizing the

ultimate achievement of our life.